Quandaries

… are what occur when you participate in surveys intended for LGBT folks. After I answered the survey questions, I got to the statistics-gathering questions. “Do you self-identify as transgender?” one asked. I stared at it for a good few minutes before settling on “I choose not to identify at this time.”

I don’t know if the word describes me, because I’m not in a state of transition, I’m not wanting to be someone else. I’m happy who I am. But who I am is someone who is neither masculine or feminine, who feels more comfort in transgressing gender boundaries. I am someone who is relatively confused about my gender identity. But does that make me trans? I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

